Public Programs

 

The DeKalb History Center hosts educational programs throughout the year including lunch and learn lectures, tours and a variety of others. Please check our events page for more information. For tours listed below, please call 404-373-1088 extension 20 for tickets and information or email goldemund@dekalbhistory.org

 

All tours are $10 for adults, $6 for kids (age 6 - 18), under 5 free with an adult

You can also click back to our Events Page here to make reservations via PayPal.

 

Swanton House and Pioneer Log Cabins Tour

Join a regularly scheduled tour listed below or schedule a tour for your own group of 10 or more people of the DeKalb History Center's historic structures at 720 West Trinity Place in Decatur. Benjamin Swanton was an early settler and businessman in Decatur. His former home is furnished for the mid-nineteenth century and reflects the lifestyle of this middle class family. Hear his story and learn about the early days of DeKalb County and Decatur. Call 404-373-1088, ext 20. (Picturedbelow - Benjamin Swanton and his granddaughters)

 Spring 2015 Swanton House tour dates

SH, Saturday March 21, noon

SH, Saturday April 25, noon

 

Civil War Walking Tour

Join us for a guided Civil War walking tour in downtown Decatur. The hour-long tour begins in

the lobby of the Historic DeKalb Courthouse and complements our new exhibit,

Tears and Curses: A Human Perspective on the Civil War. You will learn about the early history

of the county, the effects of the war on the civilian population in DeKalb, the Atlanta campaign,

and the Battle of Decatur.

Spring 2015 Civil War walking tour dates

CW, Friday March 13, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday March 14, 3 p.m.

CW, Tues. March 17, 1:30 p.m.

CW, Wed. March 25, 2 p.m.

CW, Friday March 27, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday March 28, 3 p.m.

 CW, Friday April 3, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday April 4, 3 p.m

CW, Friday April 10, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday April 11, 3 p.m.

 CW, Friday April 17, 2 p.m.

CW, Wednesday April 22, 2 p.m.

CW, Friday April 24, 3 p.m.

CW, Saturday April 25, 3 p.m

CW, Friday May 1, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday May 2, 3 p.m.

 CW, Friday May 8, 2 p.m.

 CW, Saturday May 9, 3 p.m.

CW, Wednesday May 13, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday May 16, 3 p.m.

CW, Wednesday May 27, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday May 30, 3 p.m.

CW, Friday June 5, 2 p.m.

CW, Saturday June  6, 3 p.m.

 CW, Wednesday June 10, 2 p.m.

CW, Friday June 12, 2 p.m.


 History of DeKalb and Historic Courthouse Tour

 Schedule a tour of the Historic Courthouse for groups of 10 or more. Learn about the early history of DeKalb County beginning with the native people who still occupied the land after the formation of the county. Learn where their trade routes once were and how that influenced the future settlers. Which areas of the county were settled first and what did people do here? When did the population really begin to grow and why? How many enslaved people were here? How was DeKalb affected during the Civil War? How did the courthouse change over time and what was its role in the county? Come and hear this fascinating history!

 

 All tours are $10 for adults, $6 for children (age 6 - 18), under 5 free with an adult

For reservations call 404-373-1088, extension 20, or goldemund@dekalbhistory.org.

You can also click back to our Events Page here to make reservations via PayPal.